Almost Authentic Black & White Cookies

BW Close up

Welcome to my first post! Woohoo! I am excited to be here 🙂

This is no place for introductions… this is a place for COOKIES! If you want to find out more about me, check out my About Me page (duh). It was really difficult to decide what recipe to try out first on my brand-spankin’-new blog, so I pretty much just closed my eyes and pointed to one. Black & White Cookies are where I landed.

I say they are almost authentic because, though the recipe comes from a real live New Yorker, I hardly know a thing about New York. I have been there, but that’s not sayin’ much!

I’ve eaten Black & White Cookies exactly twice, and both times the people I was with said “These are nothing compared to the real thing from the real city.” Basically, folks in Florida don’t know how to make ’em. I don’t know if mine taste like the real thing from New York, but I think they turned out pretty darn good! Hubby’s office (where all of my treats wind up) agreed.

Okay, here we go… Black & White Cookies.
Adapted from Smitten Kitchen

B/W Ingredients

Here’s what you need:

1 3/4 cups sugar
2 sticks unsalted butter – room temperature
4 eggs
1 1/2 cups milk
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon lemon extract
2 1/2 cups cake flour
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
4 cups powdered sugar
1 cup water
3 ounces unsweetened chocolate (I used Baker’s)
1 teaspoon light corn syrup
1 – 2 tablespoons cocoa powder

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees & lightly grease 2 or 3 cookie sheets (or line with parchment)

DSC00733 DSC00735B/W Flour in Liquid B/W Batter

In a large mixing bowl, combine sugar & butter until fluffy. Add eggs, milk vanilla and lemon and mix until smooth… it will be pretty thin. In another bowl, combine flours, baking powder and salt. Add this to the liquid mixture in batches, stirring well after each batch.

B/W Before Bake

B/W After Bake

B/W Flat Side

Spoon batter onto baking sheets 2 inches apart. You can make these however big you want – I went for the traditional big cookies and could only fit 6 per sheet. The recipe says to bake for 18-20 minutes. I kept an eye on mine and only baked them for about 16 minutes.

B/W White IcingB/W White Ice 1B/W White Ice 2

For the Icing –  put the powdered sugar in a bowl and boil a cup of water on the stove. Slowly add the hot water to the sugar – you will only need about half – and sit until you get a thick, spreadable mixture. Spread this on one half of the flat side of each cookie. Put the water back on the stove.

B/W Choco Ice

Now put the sugar bowl on top of the water and heat it up double-boiler style. Stir in the chocolate and the corn syrup. If it doesn’t look dark enough, add a tablespoon or two of cocoa powder and it should darken nicely. Ice the remaining half of the cookies.

B/W Done

Don’t be alarmed if you have to keep adding water a bit at a time to either the white or the black icing – it cools and harden quickly. I also ran out of white icing and had to make more… but I like to ice on the thick side! My chocolate icing wan’t shiny like it should be, and I think this was from using Baker’s chocolate. Next time, I would try using an unsweetened dark chocolate bar.

For a printable version of this recipe… click here.

Since I’m new at this whole blogging thing, leave me a comment and let me know what you do & don’t like so far!

Leave a Reply

