Homemade Peanut Butter

PB in red cup

Things I love about peanut butter:

1. It is yummy
2. It is gooey
3. It is yummy with jelly, bananas, marshmallow fluff and any combination of these.

Things I don’t love about store-bought peanut butter:

1.Hydrogenated vegetable oils = chemically altered & kind of scary

Don’t judge me here… I am not a total health food nut. I try to eat healthy, but I also really love my Lucky Charms for breakfast. I have also been known to consume a dozen S’mores in one sitting, which may or may not have happened before Thanksgiving dinner one year. But, as I’ve gotten older I’ve started to pay attention to the processed crap that I put inside my body.

I have bought ‘Natural’ peanut butter before and thought it was pretty gross, because it was just plain old roasted peanuts without any salt or sugar. Blech. Boring. But then, Joy the Baker wrote about using Honey Roasted Peanuts. She’s so darn smart.

So, as soon as I ran out of my jar of JIF, I bought some Honey Roasted Peanuts.

I put about a cup of them in my food processor with a pinch of salt for 3 or 4 minutes, stopping every minute to scrape the sides.

Before I knew it, I had super yummy homemeade peanut butter! I love how, at the end, it formed it’s own convenient peanut butter ball!

I put my peanut butter in an air tight container & put it the *fridge.  It should last for a couple of weeks.

I immediately made a PB&J sandwich. It was scrumptious. I don’t think I’ll ever buy peanut butter again.

*Note: To make it spreadable, nuke it for 30 seconds or so.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Peanut Butter

  1. Would you do the same thing to make almond butter? What do you think would need to be added to the almonds to make it tasty?

    Or, or, what about a crazy all nut sort of butter, with peanuts and almonds and cashews and pecans? Like a super peanut butter.

    • Start out with whole almonds, add some sugar, honey and salt. You can always start out with just a dash of everything and taste as you are processing it. Let me know if you try it how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

