Pineapple Project – Round 4

First off, I would like to announce that my pineapple now has a name. Her name is Sofia. Thanks to Mandy from ‘tiny mandolin‘ for 1) suggesting that I come up with a name and 2) suggesting Sofia. I had originally thrown out Percy the Pineapple, but we ultimately decided that Percy was too harsh and prickly (not to mention that it is the name of one of my nephew Zack’s favorite trains) and that the pineapple, being already harsh and prickly, needed a softer sweeter name. You know, that whole let the inner beauty shine through thing. So, here she is in all her prickly-on-the-outside-but-sweet-on-the-inside glory: Sofia the Pineapple.

Second, I would like to point out how, now, Sofia looks like something that I might be able to eat sometime soon. Her top more than doubled in size in just over a week and she no longer has that reddish-pinkish tint that she had last week. The girl is turning into a bona fide piece of… fruit. (Goodness, what did you think I was going to say?!?)

Now the question becomes… when is she ripe enough to pick but not quite ripe enough for the bugs to ravage her?

5 thoughts on “Pineapple Project – Round 4

  1. LOL! I am very glad to even have played some part in that small produce’s life, even if it is just a name. But now that Sofia is more than just ‘it’, I think it may be very arduous choosing when it will be the right time to pick her and eat her… but thus is life!

Leave a Reply

