Pineapple Project: How to Grow a Pineapple

A long while ago I promised that I would publish a post on how to grow your very own Sofia. You don’t have to name yours Sofia. You don’t have to name it anything really… you just need to grow it. Why? Because its fun & its easy & pineapples are yummy!! Are you ready?? Go out right now and buy yourself a pineapple. I’ll wait for you to do so.

Welcome back. Got your fruit? Good. First, chop off the top, but make sure to leave yourself a good inch or so of fruit to work with. Cut around the core, straight down from the foliage. Foliage… fun word.

Just keep cutting, just keep cutting… all the way ’round.

You end up with this. Can you see the darker, round core in the middle? Our next task is to get down to that core.

So, lay your top down and cut around that core… it doesn’t have to be round.

You’ll end up with this. No more cutting.

Now you need to pull of the bottom several layers of leaves in order to expose the roots.

See those little brown nubs? Those are the roots! Keep pulling off leaves until you see a couple of rows of roots. Then, set your top in a cool, dry place and let it dry out for 3-5 days. When it has dried out some, stick it in the ground. Or in a pot. Pineapples will only get as big as their pots, but I have heard that they will still bear fruit in a pot. Water as needed and fertilize if you want to, but they really don’t need much. Mine took 2 years to bear fruit, but I have heard anywhere from a year to 3. Fruit or not, though, they sure are pretty plants!

7 thoughts on “Pineapple Project: How to Grow a Pineapple

    • Yeah, I’m thinking they probably don’t like snow too much. Or cold in general. BUT, you could always put one in a pot and bring it in for the winter! I started mine in a pot in my kitchen in Savannah!

  1. Don’t throw the skin away…you know when you’re done with peeling the pineapple. Put it in a pot (obviously cleaned skins), top up with water, add a few slices of ginger and lemon with some (vanilla) sugar and boil for an hour on medium to low heat. When ready, strain, bottle and cool. Pineapple juice…ready

  2. I would probably end up having a potted-pineapple plant, seeing as I live in the state of Iowa, which becomes lovingly frigid during the winter months. I also would like to grow a cactus but my roommate does not agree for some reason (she thinks they are ugly.)

    Now that Sofia enjoyed a brief life, what is your next project??

    • There are some really pretty cacti that bloom even indoors!

      I have lots of things I want to bake in the near future… though I broke my camera the other day, so I’m not sure how that’s going to work out 😦

  3. Pingback: 5 Posts About Pineapples « The Baker Bee

Leave a Reply

