Lemon Rosemary Palmiers

When I first saw these Palmiers on Joy the Baker, I thought “now those look like interesting cookies.” And then I forgot about them.

Last week, though, I was looking through Joy’s recipes for something to make with buttermilk. Somehow, someway, I came across these little gems again. And I happened to have all 4 ingredients on hand. That’s right… 4 ingredients. So few ingredients, actually, that I didn’t even take a “here’s what you need” photo.

Now, I had never heard of Palmiers before, so I Googled them like a dork and found out that they were French. I like French. I don’t DO French very well, but I figured I’d give it a stab. I mean, come on… 4 ingredients can’t be that hard right? (Quick side note: why does ‘Googled’ get caught in spell check? I feel like that should be a word by now.)

I have one thing to say about these cookies… HOLY YUMMY COOKIES BATMAN!

Okay, here’s what you need: (Adapted from Joy the Baker)
To print this recipe… click here.

  • Puff Pastry Dough (find it in your grocer’s freezer section… good information in case you are just pretending to be a baker and didn’t know where the puff pastry dough was)
  • About a cup of sugar
  • Zest from 1 or 2 lemons (I used 2)
  • About a teaspoon of finely chopped fresh rosemary

Pour your sugar onto a clean surface and dump the zest right on top. Work the zest into the sugar with the back of a spoon (or a bench knife… but I don’t have one of those!) Soon, the sugar will start to smell like lemon. It will be marvelous.

Keep about half the sugar on your work surface and put the other half aside. Unroll your dough and place it on the lemon-sugar. Like Joy says, don’t fret if your dough rips a bit, just squish it back together. Spread the remaining sugar on top and roll the dough out just a bit to thin it out… it should be somwheres around 10″x12″when you are done.

Sprinkle the rosemary on top.

Roll each side in to the middle. Wrap the dough and put it in the fridge for about an hour. I had to put mine in the freezer for a bit too. You want it to be hard enough to cut easily.

Preheat your oven to 400. Unwrap your chilled dough and cut into half-inch slices. See that pretty knife up there? That is my Wusthof Classic 7″ Santoku. It is my favorite thing in my kitchen. I love that knife, but that’s another story for another day. Place the cookie slices on parchment lined baking sheets and bake for 10-15 minutes, or until good and golden. Mine were in there for more like 18 minutes… just make sure you watch them closely after 10 minutes, because they will burn quickly!

The whole time I was making these I kept telling Hubby that I wasn’t sure how they would turn out, ’cause I always want him to have fair warning if dessert is going to suck. And then we ate half of them. The whole batch of 22 Palmiers lasted less than 24 hours. They are that good.

17 thoughts on “Lemon Rosemary Palmiers

    • Casey, I am baking these right now. The lemon-sugar smelled heavenly, you were right. I am bringing them to bible study tonite and I will be sure to let you know how they went over… I’m MORE than excited to eat some!!

  1. Pingback: Holiday Cookie Series: Palmiers | The Baker Bee

Leave a Reply

