Chocolate Orange Palmiers

Before we begin with the Palmiers… I have 2 confessions to make:

1. I know I have been away for like forever. I am sorry. Really I am. I have just been preoccupied with eating and sleeping. Why? Because I’m pregnant, that’s why! Now that I am in my second trimester and can keep my eyes open through the afternoon (most days) and only need to eat every 2 hours (rather than hourly) I will start to post regularly again. At least, I will try. πŸ™‚

2. This is NOT the recipe I wanted to post today. I wanted to wait on these, seeing as the last recipe I posted were Palmiers. But, I dropped my digital camera on the kitchen floor a while back and have had to revert to using my old film SLR. I got the wrong film developed and this was the only complete recipe I had pictures of. Sure, I could’ve waited until the right film was developed, but I didn’t want to you to have to wait any longer! So there. Sorry.

On to the good stuff… as mentioned above, the last recipe I posted was for super delicious Lemon Rosemary Palmiers from Joy the Baker. They were fantastic. I’ve actually had dreams about them. Hubby and I started discussing the endless possibilities of Palmier “stuffing” and he immediately said chocolate. Because to Hubby, everything is better with chocolate. Not that I disagree. So, I came up with the idea for Chocolate Orange Palmiers. They are good, but not nearly as scrumptious as the Lemon Rosemary. Next, we are going to try something with crushed peppermint… do you have any other Palmier ideas???

Okay, here’s what you need:
To print this recipe… click here.

  • Puff Pastry Dough
  • About a cup of sugar
  • Zest from 1 large orange
  • Shavings from about 6 oz bittersweet chocolate (though you can use any chocolate your little hearts desire)

Pour your sugar out onto your workspace and dump the orange zest on top.

Work the zest into the sugar with the back of a spoon until the sugar starts to turn a little orange and is fragrant. Resist from licking the spoon. Oh, okay, go ahead and eat a little. Set half aside and leave the other half spread on your workspace.

Shave the chocolate. I use my extra coarse microplane for this… works great.

Lay out a sheet of puff pastry dough on the sugar on your workspace. If the seams rip, that’s okay. Just push ’em back together. Sprinkle the remaining orange sugar on top.

Gently roll out the dough until it is about 12″ x 10″… doesn’t have to be exact.

Sprinkle chocolate shavings over the entire surface.

Roll each side into the middle… try to roll it rather tightly. Wrap the rolled-up dough in plastic and put in the fridge for an hour.

Preheat your oven to 400. Unwrap the chilled dough and cut it into half-inch slices. There’s that beautiful knife again. Hello, lover. Is it sad that I say things like that to kitchen equipment and not to shoes?

Lay your beautifully sliced Palmiers out on parchment paper lined baking sheets (or lightly greased… but PLEASE go buy parchment paper if you don’t have any. It’s the best). Space them about 2 inches apart or so… they will spread. Aren’t they purty??

Place them in the oven for 10-15 minutes until the pastry is golden. My oven is slow, so it took about 18 minutes… just make sure you watch them closely after 10 minutes. These suckers will burn fast! Let cool on the baking sheets or on wire racks, then enjoy! They will only last a couple of days before becoming chewy.

14 thoughts on “Chocolate Orange Palmiers

  1. They sure do look delicious. Glad you getting back to posting more cooking recipies and ideas!

    Love, NANA

    ps – put Kasey, Graham and Lindsey on your mailing list! I will forward this one to them.

  2. I guess I can’t read πŸ™‚ I see that you did sent this to Graham and Kasey. I guess it is best to wait on Lindsey to get back in the country.

  3. I love chocolate and orange together. This recipe brings back memories. In Dutch St. Maarten you could buy big round balls of chocolate the size of oranges with an orange sauce inside of them. They were my favorite Dutch treat.

  4. I made the lemon rosemary palmiers this weekend. How easy was that! My kitchen smelled fabulous ! You were right…the palmiers vanished by evening. I can’t wait to bake more.

    Anne

  5. Pingback: Holiday Cookie Series: Palmiers | The Baker Bee

Leave a Reply

