Red Velvet Cupcakes with Pineapple Cream Cheese Frosting

I made these for Valentine’s Day. I probably should have made them before V-Day so that I could post them for you, but I am just not that organized. I blame it on the baby… he likes to eat my brain. Probably because I feed him things like cupcakes.

Really, though, these cupcakes were delicious. I have always loved red velvet cake, but never made it before. I found this recipe on Joy the Baker. These cupcakes are easy to make and came out super moist and flavorful. The cream cheese frosting also comes from Joy the Baker, but I used pineapple cream cheese instead of regular because, well, I am pregnant and must have pineapple cream cheese in my fridge at all times.

Here’s what you need for the cupcakes: (Adapted from Joy the Baker)
To print this recipe, along with the frosting recipe (shown down below) click here.

  • 4 tablespoons butter (room temp)
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons cocoa powder (unsweetened)
  • 3 tablespoons red food coloring
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1 cup + 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons white vinegar

Preheat your oven to 325. In a medium mixing bowl, cream the butter and the sugar until good and fluffy. 2 or 3 minutes should do it.

Next, add your egg and mix on medium until fully incorporated. As (almost) always in baking, it is best for the egg to be room temperature.

In a small bowl, mix the cocoa powder, vanilla and red food coloring into a paste.

Add the red cocoa paste to the sugar mixture and mix until all of the batter is dyed. A useful tool for a recipe like this is a good rubber spatula… you’ll want to scrape the sides of the bowl often to make sure everything is well incorporated.

Now we are going to teach our ingredients to take turns. Add half the buttermilk and mix on low until combined. Scrape the sides. Add half the flour and mix on low until combined. Scrape the sides. Repeat with the remaining buttermilk and flour. Mix on high until smooth.

Last but not least, add the salt, baking soda and vinegar. Mix on high for a couple minutes or so. I’ve mentioned before that I think you should taste your batter. Please do so now. This one is pretty awesome.

This is the point in the recipe where I tell you to line your muffin tin with cupcake liners. This is the point in the recipe where I searched and searched for a good 5 minutes for my cupcakes liners. You know, the ones I swear I bought like 3 weeks ago. The ones I have yet to find. The ones I probably meant to buy but never did. Yeah. So, instead, I greased my muffin tin. As per usual cupcake/muffin standards, fill each cup 3/4 full.

Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until a skewer inserted into the center of a cupcake comes out clean. Let cool in the pan for about 10 minutes, then cool the rest of the way on a wire rack. Try to hold off on icing until they are completely cool.

Here’s what you need for the frosting: (Adapted from Joy the Baker… this is actually a great little tutorial on how to make smooth cream cheese frosting)

  • 4 oz pineapple cream cheese (room temp)
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter (room temp)
  • 1/8 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • little pinch of salt
  • 2-3 cups powdered sugar
  • 1-2 tablespoons milk

First, cream the cream cheese (sounds funny, huh?) until it is good and smooth. Then, add in the butter and cream together for a couple of minutes, stopping once to scrape the bowl.

Add the vanilla, salt and brown sugar and mix until all is smooth. Then, add about a cup of the powdered sugar, mixing on low. Mix alternately with a little bit of the milk and powdered sugar until frosting reaches a consistency you are happy with. I ended up using about a 2 cups powdered sugar and just over a tablespoon milk.

Frost cool cupcakes with a spatula, or pipe onto cupcakes with a pastry bag. Try not to eat ALL of the cupcakes before you bring them to work.

8 thoughts on “Red Velvet Cupcakes with Pineapple Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. Yum – I love the idea of the pineapple with the cream cheese frosting. Nick’s Valentine’s Day cupcakes were also transferred to the office. He would have eaten every last one.

Leave a Reply

