Chocolate Cake with Whipped Peanut Butter Frosting

My goodness… has it really been a month since I last posted? Yeeks. I am a bad blogger. Snowbird season is winding down here in SW Florida, so I should have more time to bake and write in the coming weeks. In between setting up the baby’s room. Oh, and giving birth to him. Yeah, plenty of time.

Anywho, in my last post I began the Martha Stewart Project. In that post I said that though I would be focusing on cupcakes from the BOOK, I would still be baking other things, like this amazingly delicious chocolate cake. And then I think I said I would post this ‘next week’… which really should have been like 3 weeks ago.

SO, about a month ago Hubby and I went to dinner at my parent’s house and I said I’d bring dessert… ’cause that’s what I do. Hubby asked me to make this cake, which I have made a couple of times before. I’m going to tell you right now… make this cake. The chocolate cake has a wonderful subtle coffee flavor to it. I don’t like coffee, but I love the flavor and moisture it adds to this cake. Also, and probably most importantly, the icing tastes like Reese’s peanut butter… the kind from Reese’s Pieces. It doesn’t get much better than that, folks.

Here’s what you need: (Adapted from Maple n’ Cornbread) (printable version coming soon!)
For the cake:

  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter, room temp
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 3 large eggs, room temp
  • 1 cup coffee (brewed)
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 2 cups cake flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 4 oz finely chopped dark chocolate

For the frosting:

  • 1 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 5 tbsp unsalted butter, room temp
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1 to 1 1/2 cups confectioners sugar
  • 1/2 cup or so dark chocolate chips for drizzling

Preheat your oven to 350 and line 2 9-inch round pans with parchment paper. If you don’t have parchment paper (which you should by now!!) grease the bottoms and sprinkle in some flour. This cake would probably work just fine in one 13×9 pan if layering isn’t your thing.

To start off, put your sugars and your butter in a medium mixing bowl and mix on high until creamed.

Add the eggs and beat until well combined.

Mix in the coffee, sour cream and vanilla and beat on medium until well blended.. This will not look pretty. Just trust me.

Add in the flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Beat slowly until almost incorporated.

Mix in the cocoa powder, beating until well combined… about 2 minutes or so. Stop once or twice to scrape the sides of the mixing bowl.

Fold in the chopped chocolate. Stick your finger in the batter. Say mmmmm.

Pour the batter evenly into the 2 round cake pans. Tap the pans on the counter to get any major air bubbles out.

Bake on 350 for 22 to 25 minutes, or until the center springs back when touched. Cool in the pans for 5 minutes or so and then transfer to a wire rack. Wait until completely cool to ice.

For the icing, beat together the butter and the peanut butter until smooth.

Add the vanilla, heavy cream and powdered sugar and beat on low until light, fluffy and delicious (2 minutes or so). You might want to start with 1 cup of powdered sugar and continue to slowly add more until it reaches the desired consistency.

To ice the cake, set the first layer on whatever you are using as a cake platter and line with strips of wax paper or parchment paper that you can easily pull out from under the cake when you are finished. This will help keep your platter clean. Another tip is to put your cake layers in the freezer for just 10 or 15 minutes… the hardness will make the frosting easier to spread. Go ahead and spread a good layer of icing on the bottom layer… no need to ice the sides yet.

Carefully place the top layer. I usually stick 3 bamboo skewers into my cakes to ensure that they don’t slide around during icing and transporting. Ice the top of the cake first and then the sides. I had just barely enough frosting to cover the whole cake. It probably didn’t help that hubby kept stealing it from the bowl :).

Melt your chocolate chips in the microwave (watch ’em closely so they don’t burn!) or over a double boiler. Drizzle the chocolate on top. Remove the paper lining from your plate, and voila! I couldn’t get a picture of the cake sliced… we ate it too fast!

Until next time… (and hopefully it won’t be a month!)

2 cups cake flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 1/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp sea salt
1 cup dutch-process unsweetened cocoa powder (the higher quality the better)
1 cup granulated or turbinado sugar
1 cup light brown sugar
3 large eggs, room temp
3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temp
1 cup strong brew coffee
1 cup sour cream
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
4 oz finely chopped dark chocolate (60-70%)
13 thoughts on “Chocolate Cake with Whipped Peanut Butter Frosting

  1. Wow! What better way to celebrate Earth Day than to enjoy two of the best things on Earth – chocolate and peanut butter! I will surely have to try this one.

  2. We could call this the Mag James Cake….cause Grama loves chocolate and peanut butter. The drizzle makes it look very appetizing.

  3. I love how optimistic you are about your upcoming time for blogging! 😉 I’d never thought of whipped peanut butter frosting, but now I feel like I have to give it a try. Thanks.

  4. Pingback: Chocolate Cupcakes with Whipped Peanut Butter Frosting | The Baker Bee

Leave a Reply

