Martha Project 2: Hummingbird Cupcakes

K, so remember my last post? The one where I said I would have more time and would blog more often? Evidently I lied. I started out with good intentions and made these Hummingbird Cupcakes on Mother’s Day weekend, but I am just now getting around to writing about them. So from now on, instead of promising to blog more often, I am just going to promise to bake and blog when I can… sound good to you? Awesome.

On a side note (kind of)… my baby is due in just a week! So, there is a good chance that I will be taking a little hiatus while Hubby & I get used to life as Mommy & Daddy.

I’m not going to say too much about these Martha Stewart cupakes. They resemble a banana-bread type cake but with the addition of crushed pineapple and coconut… except I left out the coconut… and are topped with a basic but yummy cream cheese frosting. They are very tasty, but not necessarily my style of sweet treat. I think they would be better without the frosting and heated up with some butter on top. Like a breakfast muffin. Hubby, however, loved them… and so did his co-workers.

So, let’s get into it… Martha Project #2: Hummingbird Cupcakes. Page 222. Please ignore the crappy quality of these pictures – I was not smart and made these at night.

To start, Martha decorated her Hummingbirds with dried pineapple flowers. I am not going to do a step-by-step here, but you basically slice fresh pineapple as thin as you possibly can and bake on 250 for approximately 20 minutes on each side… flipping them in the middle. This dries them out, if you don’t live in super-humid Florida. Mine took about a hour total, but if you live somewhere arid & dry, they might only take 30 minutes. To get them into flower shape, rather than just flat flowers, set them to dry in cupcake tins. I used a mini-tin, which made them too tall. I’ll go for a regular tin next time. These little guys are pretty darn tasty.

Here’s what you need: (Adapted from Martha Stewart’s Cupcakes)
Makes 20 regular-sized cupcakes. To print this recipe click here.
For the cupcakes:

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 stick (1/2 cup) unsalted butter – melted & cooled
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 eggs (okay, I obviously halved this recipe)
  • 1 cup mashed banana (about 2 large, ripe bananas)
  • 1 8oz can crushed pineapple – drained
  • 1/2 cup toasted pecans – chopped (orig. recipe calls for walnuts)
  • Orig. recipe calls for 1/2 unsweetened desiccated coconut, but me no-likey coconut, so I left it out

For the Cream Cheese frosting:

  • 1 stick (1/2 cup) unsalted butter – room temp
  • 6oz plain cream cheese – room temp
  • 2 cups powdered sugar – sifted
  • 1/3 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat your oven to 350 and line standard cupcake tins with paper liners. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon.

In a large mixing bowl, add together butter, vanilla and sugar.

Beat on medium-high until well combined and add eggs, beating until well incorporated. Scrape down the sides of the bowl as need be.

Combine together banana, pineapple and nuts… stir.

Add fruit & nut mixture to the egg mixture and beat until combined.

Stir in flour mixture with a spatula. The final batter doesn’t exactly look appetizing, but it tastes promising.

Fill cupcake tins 3/4 full. Bake 25-28 minutes, turning pan halfway through, until tops are golden and a skewer comes out clean.

Cool entire pan on wire racks.

For the frosting, cream the butter and cream cheese. Add in the powdered sugar 1/2 cup at a time, beating on low until desired consistency is reached. Go ahead and dip your finger… this frosting may be simple, but it is GOOD.

Frost cooled cupcakes… cupcakes can be stored by themselves for 3 days unrefrigerated. Once frosted, store in the fridge for up to 3 days.

They sure look purdy, don’t they?

Until next time!

6 thoughts on “Martha Project 2: Hummingbird Cupcakes

  1. Casey – They sure do look pretty and I know they taste good. I am especially impressed with the pineapple flowers. That is really neat.
    Love you! NANA

  2. Casey,
    As you know, I’m not allowed to eat sweets, but at least I can enjoy how pretty your cupcakes are. They are beautiful!!

  3. I love the thought of banana and coconut and pineapple together — very refreshing, summerish, tropical. Good choice and good photos.

Leave a Reply

