Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

My job for Thanksgiving was to make cookies. I have a pretty good arsenal of cookies that I make, but I really wanted to make something different… something festive. One day, when I wasn’t even searching for it, I came across a recipe for Pumpkin Whoopie Pies from Jaden over at Steamy Kitchen. I was excited about this for several reasons:

1. These cookies looked amazing.

2. They had pumpkin in them – how do you get more festive than that?

3. The filling had marshmallow fluff in it – seriously, folks.

4 (and most importantly). Jaden lives in the same area as I do and I have followed her blog for quite a while. She is an amazingly talented chef and writer who does all kinds of cool things in our area… like cooks on TV & writes food columns for the Tampa Tribune & Discovery Health. She also has started a community farm in Lakewood Ranch that’s all about teaching the community how to be sustainable and how to eat well. I mean, come on, how cool is that??

I was stoked to be able to use one of Jaden’s recipes and to share it with all of you! These Whoopie Pies were a huge hit with my family. Not as heavy as pie, but certainly as tasty & as sweet! I highly suggest them for a holiday dessert… they would be perfect for Christmas!

Here’s what you need: (Adapted from Steamy Kitchen)
Printable recipe coming soon!
For the cookies (makes 48 sandwiches):

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 sticks unsalted butter, softened
  • 2 cups brown sugar (packed)
  • 1 15oz can pumpkin puree (NOT pumpkin pie filling)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

For the filling (which I may or may not have forgotten to take a picture of):

  • 1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter, softened
  • 2 oz cream cheese, softened
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 7.5oz jar marshmallow creme

Preheat your oven to 350 and line baking sheets with parchment paper (or grease ’em). Throw all of your dry ingredients (sans sugar) in a medium mixing bowl… flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking powder, baking soda, salt… mix together & set aside. Side note: I recently discovered the power of freshly ground nutmeg. Never will I return to the store-bought stuff. I found a place (Richard’s Whole Foods for those that live in the Sarasota area) that sells spices in whatever quantities you desire. I bought some whole nutmeg and ground it myself … AH-mazing.

Cream butter & brown sugar (medium-high speed) in a large mixing bowl.

Add pumpkin and beat until combined. Add vanilla and eggs and beat until light & fluffy. Mixture will be very wet.

Gradually add flour mixture to pumpkin mixture and beat until it is combined and creamy.

Scoop batter onto baking sheets a couple of inches apart. Now, you can make these pies in a variety of sizes. I decided to use my trusty small tablespoon scoop because I wanted mine to be a little more bite sized. I am glad I did, because they turned out to be just the right size. Jaden’s recipe calls for chopped walnuts to be placed on the top of half of the cookies, but several people in my family don’t like nuts, so I left them off.

Bake for 13-16 minutes (mine were perfect at 14 minutes), until a toothpick poked in the middle comes out clean. If you are using a bigger scoop, they might need to stay in a little but longer… just keep an eye on them. Slide the parchment paper onto wire racks and let cool completely. I got 44 sandwiches with my small scoop. Obviously, larger scoops will yield less sandwiches.

To make the filling, put all 4 ingredients in a mixing bowl and beat until light, fluffy, sugary & delicious.

Turn half of the cookies upside down and place a bit of filling on each. I used my same small scoop, but only filled it about 3/4 full for each cookie.

Top with remaining cookies and push down just a little to flatten.

Sprinkle with powdered sugar to make ’em pretty. I put the finished cookies in the fridge because I wasn’t sure how well the frosting would hold up at room temp. This made the cookies themselves really sticky. I would suggest keeping them out as long as you can and then putting any extras in the fridge.

Hope you have a Merry Christmas!!

4 thoughts on “Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

  1. Pingback: Make These for Thanksgiving. You’re Welcome. « The Baker Bee

  2. Pingback: Holiday Baking: Caramel Apple Fantans | The Baker Bee

Leave a Reply

