Stuff I Feed My Kid: Asparagus & Jasmine Rice

I know, I know… another asparagus recipe.  And I don’t even have step-by-step pictures of this one.  Actually, the only picture I DO have of this one is pretty crappy:

Sorry ’bout that.

Well, onto it… you need:

  • 12-15 asparagus stalks, cut into 1-2 inch pieces, woody ends cut off & discarded.
  • 1 cup cooked Jasmine rice (see package for cooking directions)
  • Salt, Pepper & Italian Seasoning (if your baby is over 1 year)

First, do you have a steam basket?  No?  Well, if you’re going to make your own baby food, I highly recommend one.  They are cheap.

Put about an inch or two of water in a saucepan and place a steam basket on top.  Bring water to a boil over high heat.  Place asparagus in basket, cover and steam until very tender… somewhere between 6-10 minutes.  I never actually time it.  I just poke it with a fork every few minutes.

Put steamed asparagus into a food processor or blender along with a dash of salt, pepper and Italian seasoning.  Process/blend/mix until a it becomes a fairly smooth puree.

Mix puree with rice.  Done.

One of the fun things about making your own baby food is that the possibilities are endless.  Once your baby is past single ingredient purees, you can mix and match just about everything.  At this point in Bug’s life, I tend to mix veggies & grains together.  It just makes life easier!

8 thoughts on “Stuff I Feed My Kid: Asparagus & Jasmine Rice

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog! I love finding new blogs through this blog hop! I’m impressed with your homemade baby food. Your son in precious!
    Mary

  2. Hey! Stopping by from Jenna’s Journey. I’m a new follower. My baby girl is turning 5 months and I really want to make her food, so I will definitely be looking through all your post for ideas. 🙂 Thanks

    • Hi there! Thanks for following me! Making baby food is totally worthwhile! Next week I am going to do a post on what supplies you need. Check out wholesomebabyfood.com… it is a great free resource!

Leave a Reply

