Stuff You Need to Feed Your Kid

I started doing these ‘Stuff I Feed Your Kid’ posts, and then I realized that I should probably post on general baby-food-making supplies.

You really don’t need that much to make your own baby food.  In fact, chances are you already have at least one of these things in your house.

The most expensive item is a food processor.  I have this Kitchen Aid processor and love it.  You don’t have to have a food processor, though.  A blender will work just fine.  You’ll use this to make fine purees for baby’s first foods and even for chunkier purees later on.  I used my food processor quite a bit before baby, too, though… for desserts, grating carrots or other veggies, soups… all kinds of stuff!

Item number two is a steam basket.  You’ll use this to steam fruits and veggies.  Steaming is one of the healthiest ways to cook vegetables.  They don’t lose nearly as many nutrients as they do from boiling directly in water or sauteing.  At first, you have to steam many of the fruits that baby eats to make digesting that new, delicious food a little easier on their tummies.

Item number three = ice cube trays.  I bought cheap ones and they cracked after a couple of months.  We inherited some from Hubby’s grandma that have to be 20 years old and they are amazing.  You’ll use these to freeze the food you’ve just made into portions.  When Bug first started eating solids, he would only eat like 1 cube a day.  Now, he eats 4 cubes for dinner.  I really have no clue how much this is in terms of baby food jars.  I measured how many cubes a jar of stage 1 baby food was once, but I forget the result.

So, that’s about it!  Once I make and freeze Bug’s food, I store it either in disposable plastic containers or in freezer bags.  Most things last for about 3 months in the freezer.

Oh, one more thing that helped me quite a bit… I have a couple of baby food cook books that were given to me as gifts.   This one is my favorite: The Baby and Toddler Cookbook.  These books were helpful at the beginning when I had no clue what I was doing and have been great for creative ideas as Bug has gotten older.  Also: Wholesome Baby Food.com is a great resource all around.  Not only are there recipes, but also information on what nutrients are in different types of foods and when you can feed different types of food to your baby.

4 thoughts on “Stuff You Need to Feed Your Kid

Leave a Reply

