Stuff I Feed My Kid: Succotash

Do you like lima beans?  I do!  Hubby doesn’t!  I’m not sure if Bug does… he actually hasn’t tried this recipe yet.  I got this from Cooking for Baby.

Here’s what you need:

  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
  • 1 cup frozen lima beans
  • 1 cup frozen corn
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/2 cup low sodium chicken broth

Melt butter in a saute pan over medium heat.  Throw in corn, beans, salt & paprika and saute for 3-4 minutes.

Pour in chicken broth and cover… cook for 10 minutes or until veggies are good and tender.

When it’s all done, put it in a food processor/blender/whatever and mix to a consistency your baby can handle… or just mash with a fork.  Serve and/or store.  This would make a great finger food if your lima beans are small enough.  The beans I used were huge and would most certainly choke my kid, so I mashed ’em pretty good.

Store in an airtight container in the fridge for up to 3 days or in the freezer for up to 3 months.

4 thoughts on “Stuff I Feed My Kid: Succotash

Leave a Reply

