Stuff I Feed My Kid: Zucchini & Quinoa

Have you tried quinoa yet?  I was apparently a little late on the super-food train… I have seen quinoa in magazines and trendy restaurant menus for quite some time but was always a little hesitant to try it.  Something about me physically preparing new, trendy foods seems daunting to me, like they are going to be really hard to make or something.  I read in one of my baby food cookbooks (I can’t remember which one) to mix zucchini with millet, but when I couldn’t find millet at the store, I bought quinoa instead.  Figured it was worth a shot.

**NEWS BULLETIN – QUINOA IS SUPER EASY TO MAKE**

Seriously easy… like easier than rice easy.  Not only is it easy, but it is delicious.  It has a little crunch to it, but is still a soft grain.  Actually, quinoa (pronounced keen-wah) is not technically a grain… it is a seed from a plant that is related to beets, spinach and tumbleweeds.  Mmmm, tumbleweeds.  My new favorite seed is high in protein, fiber & iron… which are all very important nutrients for little guys.  If you’re worried about your baby’s iron, feed him some quinoa!

Onto what this post is actually about… zucchini & quinoa.  Bug loves zucchini, but it is really runny as a puree (which actually makes for a great first food!).  Quinoa turned out to be a perfect pairing.

Here’s what you need:

  • 2 or 3 zucchinis, sliced into 1/2 inch pieces
  • 1 cup cooked quinoa (follow package directions for cooking)

Put about an inch or two of water in a saucepan and place a steam basket on top.  Bring water to a boil over high heat.  Place zucchini in basket, cover and steam until tender… about 5 minutes.  Mix the zucchini in a food processor/blender/whatever until pureed.  You can really leave it as chunky as your baby can handle, but I like to get it pretty smooth for this recipe.

Pour zucchini puree into a bowl.  Pour in quinoa.  Mix together.  Serve The end.

Tough, huh?

Store in an airtight container in the fridge for 3 days for freeze for 3 months.

8 thoughts on “Stuff I Feed My Kid: Zucchini & Quinoa

  1. Hey Casey thanks so much for sharing this great idea! I made it for Lucas with zucchini, squash and peas. He loved it. I tried it myself and it’s quite tasty! Thanks again (:

    • I am so glad you made it! Thanks for letting me know… it makes me so happy to hear that people actually read this stuff 🙂 We’ll have to get these babies together at a Gator game one day!

Leave a Reply

