Crafts for Toddlers: Painting Pumpkins

Let me start out by saying that I LOVE Halloween.  Really, I love any holiday.  That being said, I am definitely NOT the girl that goes all out decorating for the seasons or for holidays, but I do like a little festiveness around the house.  And, one of the things I was looking forward to most as a mother was little kid crafts decorating my house.  Last year, Bug was too young to help out in that area.  Now, he is just the right age.  So, I thought it’d be fun (and cheap!) for us to paint a couple of small pumpkins as a way to get into the Halloween spirit.

I bought a couple of little pumpkins for a dollar apiece and just used the finger paints and brushes that we already had on hand.  I covered the table with newspaper and let Bugger go to town.

He had a ball for about 10 minutes before it became apparent that rolling the pumpkins onto the floor was more fun than painting them.  This is when Mommy decided we were done.  I don’t have any pictures of that, obvi.  I was trying to save my floor from a mixture of paint and smashed pumpkin.

The pumpkins turned out cute and are proudly displayed where everyone can see them.

Any fun Halloween crafts you’d like to share?

One thought on “Crafts for Toddlers: Painting Pumpkins

  1. Pingback: Crafts for Toddlers: Painting Pumpkins 2012 | The Baker Bee

Leave a Reply

