Stuff I Feed My Kid: Sweet Mashed Potatoes

I mentioned last week that we hide a lot of food in sweet mashed potatoes.  Probably a good idea to share with you how to make super easy sweet mash.

Here’s what you need:

  • 3 or 4 sweet potatoes
  • 1/4 cup cream (or milk)
  • 1/8 cup orange juice
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1/8 cup brown sugar
  • salt & pepper to taste

Here’s what you do:

Skin your potatoes and cut them into 1″-2″ chunks.  Put ’em in a pot of water.  Bring to a boil.  Turn down the heat a bit and let simmer for 20 minutes or so… until very tender when poked with a fork.  Drain.

In a large mixing bowl put cooked potato chunks and all of the other ingredients.  Seriously.  Just throw them all in there.  In reality, you could do this right in the pot after you drain the water, but my potato masher is metal and it scratches my non-stick pots & pans… BIG no-no for me.

Then… mash it all together.  I use a potato masher.  You could use a hand mixer for smoother potatoes… or even a food processor.  I don’t really feel the need to have super smooth potatoes.  Plus, it’s easier to clean the masher.

The end.  Super easy, no?

2 thoughts on “Stuff I Feed My Kid: Sweet Mashed Potatoes

  1. Aaaaand I’m stealing this recipe to try and feed my super picky kid right now. All he eats are goldfish and I’m trying to be a responsible parent and not let him eat those and those alone. Here I come, sweet potatoes! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

