Motivated

A couple of weeks ago I wrote about motivation.  More specifically, I wrote about not being quite motivated to push myself when I run.  In short, I need a goal… a challenging goal.  The only comment I got on that post was from my friend Callie.  Callie is the one who invited me to run the 1Day Relay.  Her comment was to sign up for the Rock ‘n’ Roll Half Marathon in February in St. Pete.  So, I did (thanks, Callie!!).

My plan was to slowly work my way up race distances.  5k, 10k, and then a half marathon.  Just kidding.  I got this.  The thought of needing to be able to run 13.1 miles in 3 months certainly has motivated me to get my butt outside and train.  And, I am SUPER excited about it.

I spent a few days looking over half marathon training plans and couldn’t find anything that worked with my schedule.  So, like I did for the relay race, I decided to come up with my own plan.  I’ve mentioned this before, but my work schedule is dicey.  It’s never the same from one week to the next.  Some weeks I work 9am-7pm two days and then from 4pm-11pm the rest of the week… and then the next week might be completely different.  My days off vary from one week to the next, and I very rarely have two days off in a row.  And then, throw a baby into the mix and you can see the difficulty in having a set training program.  Unless I want to run at midnight, which is, let’s face it, not exactly safe.

Here’s my plan:

Run three times a week.  Whenever I can fit it in.  These are my runs… though they won’t be in the same order every week:

  • Long run.  Started with 4 miles last week.  Add at least 1/2 mile each week.  That’ll put me at about 10 miles.  I feel like if I can run 10, I can run 13.  Right?  RIGHT??
  • Easy run.  3 miles-ish.  9-10 minute mile.
  • Intervals.  I LOVE running intervals.  Goes by quick and I get to run fast… plus it’s a change from the repetitiveness of a regular run.  I do intervals of 1 minute jog/30 second sprint.  Right now I am doing 10 intervals… 15 minutes total… just under 2 miles.  I found that intervals really helped me increase my overall pace the last time I trained.  I’ll add an interval each week and I might change the intervals to 1 minute/1 minute as time goes on.
  • Strength training – just once a week.  Either on interval or easy run days.  Nothing crazy, just the basics – push-ups, squats, lunges, core strength, pull-ups.  I’m a big fan of strength training where you use your own body weight.

So, that’s it.  I am now motivated.  The end.

What are you doing to get yourself motivated… for anything!

Leave a Reply

