Stuff I Feed My Kid: Pancakes!

Let’s be honest… who doesn’t love pancakes?  Actually, there’s a guy I work with that doesn’t like anything breakfasty, so I take that question back.  That’s weird though… to not like pancakes or waffles or crepes, right?

Anywho.  Every morning for breakfast, Bug eats pancakes, fruit & YoBaby.  I should probably mention that we don’t give him syrup or anything… he just eats the pancakes plain.  He used to eat the Nutrigrain Whole Wheat Eggo waffles, but one day I realized that I could make pancakes and freeze them myself for WAY cheaper.   So, every time I make pancakes for Hubby & I, I make a double batch and freeze the leftovers.

Here’s my pancake recipe… it’s a recipe I’ve adapted from a few found recipes over the years.  Try it and you’ll never use Bisquick again.  I apologize for the fantastic picture quality & color.

Here’s what you need:

  • 3/4 cup regular all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour (all purpose)
  • 3 1/2 tablespoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 3 tablespoons melted butter
  • 1 egg – room temperature
  • 1 1/4 cups milk – room temperature
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

In a medium to large mixing bowl, combine dry ingredients… flours, baking powder, salt & sugar.  Mix together.

In a smaller bowl, mix together wet ingredients… butter, milk, egg & vanilla.  It’s important that your egg & milk aren’t cold.  It’ll cause the fat in the butter to congeal.  Room temperature is ideal.  The microwave is a handy tool.

Pour wet ingredients into dry and mix together.  That was hard, huh?

Heat skillet over medium heat and put some butter in the pan (or spray oil, whatevs).  Pour batter in pan.  Flip when bubbles form… after a couple of minutes.  My mother-in-law gave me these adorable pancake molds & batter pourer thing from Williams-Sonoma.  Adorable.  And, the batter pourer thing is awesome.  I made a couple of each mold for breakfast this particular morning, and then the rest of the batter I just poured silver dollar pancakes.

As far as freezing the pancakes goes… I just let them cool off a little and then throw the lot into a gallon Ziploc freezer bag.  They’ll freeze well for probably about 3 months.  To thaw, just put them in the microwave for 20-30 seconds.  They stay nice & moist.

Like I said… Bug’s a fan!

What do your kids eat for breakfast?

One thought on “Stuff I Feed My Kid: Pancakes!

Leave a Reply

