Talky Talky

At long last, I think Bug is starting to talk.  I mean, I’ve heard that boys are generally on the slower side of the whole developing their vocab thing… I just didn’t think it would take THIS LONG for decipherable words to come out of the boy’s mouth.  He’s been saying a few decipherable things for a long time… Dada, Mama, hi (“hiyee”), bye-bye (“buh-bye”), more (“moh”), Papa… but that’s been pretty much it.  He’s been saying lots of undecipherable things for about a month or two, but they have pretty much just been words that only Hubby & I understand.  He also babbles non.stop., but, again, not a word of it sounds like an actual word.

Bug’s preschool did their bi-annual evaluations of the kiddos last week and communication was his only problem area.  (Side note: I may or may not do a whole separate post on the evaluation thing, because I thought it was really cool, but no promises.)  Apparently, though, he is pretty much on par with the rest of the kids in his class, so that made me feel pretty good.  He imitates well, and he has no problem getting his point across when he wants something, it’s just the actual using of the words thing that he hadn’t quite figured out.  And, I think that’s mostly just him being lazy.  He has this awful moany grunt noise that he uses when he wants something… so we (and by we I mean our entire family and his amazing teachers) are encouraging him to “use your words” instead of groaning and pointing.  9 times out of 10 we know what he wants, but he’s not allowed to get that thing until he uses a word for it.  Even if we can’t really understand that word, as long as he calmly asks for something by name.  Needless to say, there’s been a lot of “use your words, please” and “if you want juice, say ‘juice’.”

I kind of went off track a little bit there… sorry.  Back to the main point of this post:  he is finally starting to get some true words out of his mouth.  Just in the last week or so, he’s picked up mouth, nose, eyes, apple, bite, bike, hot, hat, butt (heh.), cheese and probably a few more that I can’t think of at the moment.  Oh, and he says Daddy instead of Dada now.  Melts my heart.

Everyone keeps telling me not to rush the talking business because once they start, they don’t stop.  To tell you the truth, though, I love it.  I love being able to communicate with him instead of just guessing what it is he wants.  I love that I can ask him what fruit he wants with breakfast and he’ll answer “apple.”  I love having little conversations with him even though I have no earthly idea what he is saying.  People said the same thing to me when he started walking… “don’t push him to walk early because then you’ll have to keep up with him and he’ll be into everything.”  I was ecstatic when Bug started walking and never once wished he wasn’t walking yet.  It gave him this sense of independence.  Speaking is doing the same thing for him and I can’t wait to hear more.

When did your kids start really talking?

2 thoughts on “Talky Talky

  1. i like the idea of making him use a word instead of just following the pointing finger and the grunt. i will try it today!! we are going to have a late talker too! no language explosion here yet.

Leave a Reply

