Martha Project 4: Raspberry Marble Cheesecakes

In the name of full disclosure, I made these cupcakes a year ago.  Yup.  I was going through my picture folders and realized there are like 3 cupcake recipes I made & photographed but never posted.  Way to go me.  You can call me Space Cadet.  I know my friends do, and we’re friends, right?  Even though I made these 370 days ago, I remember them being pretty easy to make and super tasty.

So, here we go with Martha Project #4 – Raspberry Marble Cheesecakes – page 99.

Here’s what you need: (Adapted from Martha Stewart’s Cupcakes)
Makes 32 regular-sized cupcakes.
For the crust:

  • 1 1/2 cups finely ground graham crackers (about 12 sheets worth)
  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
  • 3 tablespoons sugar

For the raspberry swirl:

  • 1 container fresh raspberries (6oz container)
  • 2 tablespoons sugar

For the cheesecake:

  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 pounds cream cheese, room temperature
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 4 large eggs, room temperature

Preheat your oven to 325 and line standard muffin tins with paper liners.  We’re going to make these in three parts, ok?  First, make the raspberry swirl.  Can I just say right now that fresh raspberries are pretty much the prettiest color that God made?  Seriously.  I die.  Put the raspberries in a food processor (or a blender, whatever) and process until smooth.  Put the puree into a strainer and press through with a rubber spatula until you can’t get any more liquid out.  Discard the solids that remain and whisk in 2 tablespoons sugar.

Next, make the crust.  I used a food processor to grind up the graham crackers into fine crumbs.  Mix the crumbs, 3 tablespoons sugar and melted butter with a fork.  Put 1 tablespoon into each cup and press firmly down.  The back of my tablespoon worked better than my fingers.

Now for the main course… the cheesecake.  Easy peasy.  Not like a whole cheesecake… which I’ve never actually tried to make.  It’s probably also easy, but very intimidating to me.  Anywho.  Put your two pounds of cream cheese into a large mixing bowl and beat on medium-high until it’s light & fluffy, scraping down the sides of the bowl with a spatula as needed.

Switch the mixer to low and add the 1 1/2 cups of sugar in a slow stream.  Add the salt & vanilla and mix until well combined.  Add the eggs, one at a time, and beat until well combined.  You’ll end up with some seriously creamy, cheesy deliciousness.

Spoon 3 tablespoons of creamy, cheesy deliciousness into each cup.  I used my handy dandy 1/2 ounce ice cream scoop.  The one I never use for ice cream but rather cookie dough and cupcake batter.  Put a few drops of raspberry puree into each cup on top of the cheesecake filling.  You can kind of see the drops in the picture up to your right.  Then, using a toothpick or bamboo skewer, swirl the raspberry around to make it look pretty.  Experiment.  Have fun.

Place each muffin tin in a roasting pan and pour enough hot water into each pan to come halfway up the sides of the cups.  This is called baking something in a water bath.  It helps whatever you’re baking to not burn and is most often used when baking something without flour.  Bake for 27-30 minutes, rotating pans halfway through, until filling is set (read: until it doesn’t jiggle when you shake it gently).  Carefully remove tins from water bath and cool completely on wire racks.

Refrigerate in tins, uncovered, for at least 4 hours.  At this point, remove from tins and serve or store in airtight containers, refrigerated, for up to 5 days.  I would like to point out that my neighbors probably thought I was a tad bit crazy photographing cupcakes on my front stoop.

One thought on “Martha Project 4: Raspberry Marble Cheesecakes

Leave a Reply

