Chocolate Cupcakes with Whipped Peanut Butter Frosting

There is a dessert auction tonight at Buggy’s school and I, obviously, signed up to donate a dessert.  Because dessert is what I do.  I had been undecided as to what make until a couple of days ago.  I have quite the arsenal, but I wanted to make something that was a) shelf stable, because I don’t know how long these desserts will be held at room temperature (i.e. cheesecake = not so much) and b) super unbelievably delicious and c) pretty.

I was totally at a loss as to what to make.  I almost polled you all, lovely readers, as to what I should make.  And then I remembered this cake.  Except for I didn’t want to make a cake, so I decided to turn it into cupcakes.  I’m not going to repost the recipe… just click on that there link above to get it.  I will tell you, though, that you don’t need to change a thing as far as ingredients go to convert the recipe to cupcakes.  You do, however, need to reduce the baking time to 14-18 minutes… and, as always, rotate the tins halfway through.  The recipe as is yielded me 32 cupcakes.

The frosting recipe isn’t enough to cover them, so I made an extra half batch, which was just enough.  There is only one thing I have to say about these: HOLY PARTY IN MY MOUTH, BATMAN.  I forgot how amazing this recipe is.

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Cupcakes with Whipped Peanut Butter Frosting

Leave a Reply

