Martha Project 6: One Bowl Chocolate Cupcakes

This might be kind of cheating on the “project,” because not only am I not going to do the whole step-by-step picture tutorial thing for these cupcakes, but I also did not make the cupcakes as stated in Martha’s book.  *GASP*  I have good reasons:

1.  Bug helped me make the cupcakes.  Baking + Toddler = Super Fun.  Also, Baking + Toddler = no way in hell are pictures possible.

2.  The recipe calls for Swiss Meringue Buttercream.  I mess this frosting up every. single. time.  It takes a long time and therefore I get peeved because it takes me 30 minutes to realized it’s not working.  I think this is due to me not having a) patience and b) a stand mixer.  Also, I don’t love Swiss Meringue Buttercream.  It’s too, ummm, buttery for me.  Not enough sweet.  And, these cupcakes screamed sweet.

Review on the cupcakes?  They’re good.  Very easy to make… hence the one bowl.  I’ve learned that pretty much all of the cupcakes I make from this book are a little on the dry side, so I’ve started really underbaking them, which helped make these nice & moist.  I highly recommend using my buttercream recipe… it was a good match.  The Martha recipe calls for gumdrops to be put on top, but I wasn’t feeling that, so I left them out.

So, here’s the boring written out recipe with no pictures for Martha Project #6 – One Bowl Chocolate Cupcakes with Casey’s regular ol’ supersweet buttercream frosting – page 152.

Here’s what you need: (Adapted from Martha Stewart’s Cupcakes)
Makes 20 regular-sized cupcakes.
For the cupcakes:

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened Dutch-process cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk
  • 3 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 3/4 warm water

For the frosting:

  • 2 sticks unsalted butter – room temperature
  • 3-4 cups powdered sugar (best if it’s sifted)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract
  • 2-4 tablespoons heavy cream (milk will work fine, too)

Preheat your oven to 350 and line standard muffin tins with paper liners.  In a large bowl, combine flour, cocoa, sugar, baking soda, baking powder & salt and mix on medium with an electric mixer.

Reduce speed to low and add eggs, buttermilk, oil, vanilla and water, beating until smooth.  Scrape down the sides of the bowl with a rubber spatula as needed.

Ready for this?  Batter’s done.  I told you it was easy.  Pour batter into cups, filling each cup 2/3 of the way… I like to put about 3 tablespoons in each cup.  Bake for 16-18 minutes, rotating tins halfway, until a skewer or toothpick poked in the center comes out clean.

Cool on wire racks, in tins, for 10 minutes and then turn out onto racks to cool completely.

For the icing: in a medium bowl, cream butter on medium for a couple of minutes… until nice & smooth.  Add powdered sugar a few tablespoons at a time until desired consistency.  Add salt & vanilla.  Slowly add cream.  If it’s too thin, add more sugar.  If it’s too stiff, add more cream.  Easy peasy.

Fill a pastry bag and pipe away… I used some kind of star tip to make the starbursts pictured, but I didn’t write down which one it was.  Whoops!

Cupcakes will last 1 day, frosted, at room temperature or refrigerated for up to 3 days in an airtight container.  Cupcakes can be frozen by themselves (no frosting) for up to 2 months.

 

2 thoughts on “Martha Project 6: One Bowl Chocolate Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

