The Things He Says: Volume 2

First thing the other morning, I’m laying in bed when Hubby brings Bug in the room.  Bug sits on me and asks to play Peek-a-Boo Barn, which he hasn’t played in months.  I say, “I’m sorry, Buddy, but I don’t have Peek-a-Boo Barn anymore.”  He replies, “What are you talkin’ about?”  Hubby and I died.  For the record, neither us or anybody in our families has ever heard him say that before.

Bug tripped on the driveway and scraped his knee.  He cries a little bit.  I hold him and kiss it better and tell him that he’s okay and he stops crying.  I tell him that he’s a tough guy for not crying any more.  He stops a second and then says, “Yeah, I AM tough!”

There is probably one day every week where Bug doesn’t nap.  It’s fine if he doesn’t sleep, but the rule is he has to at least stay quiet in his crib for an hour or so.  He sleeps with a bunch of stuffed animals, and they get taken away if he doesn’t lay down.  So, yesterday he is yelling instead of napping and I (after a warning) go into his room and take his animals away.  After some protesting, he lays down and is quiet for a good hour, though he never falls asleep.  When, I go in to get him he hugs me and says “I’m sorry for you taking my bunny away.”  He was trying to apologize for not taking a nap, which was super sweet.  You have to love the way little brains work!

We’re playing dress up on Tuesday and Bug’s got his cowboy hat on.  He pulls the sides down, as pictured above, and proudly proclaims, “I’m Little Bo Peep!  I lost sheep!”  How he ever thought to pull his hat down like a bonnet, I’ll never know.

4 thoughts on “The Things He Says: Volume 2

Leave a Reply

