The Things He Says: Volume 4

Aunt Annie had some friends from Scotland and England visiting.  Bug’s response to their accents? “When they open their mouths they talk silly.”

“Mom, did you get new sunglasses?”
“Yes, Bug, I did.”
“Let me see them… those are cool.”
Just like a big kid 🙂

Really sleepy in the car one afternoon: “I’m going to close my eyes and think about myself.”  And then, promptly fell asleep.

Instead of saying “No, thank you,”… Bug says, “No, please.”  We don’t correct him, because it’s cute.

We had one particularly difficult evening where Bug was just tired after a long day at school.  He refused to eat his dinner, screaming and crying at me to feed it to him.  After telling him that I wasn’t going to feed him because big boys feed themselves, he scooped up some food on his fork, put it on my plate and sassypants said, “I put this here so you could feed me.”  One of those moments where I had to look away so I wouldn’t laugh.

Bug has been having some very good and resourceful ideas lately.  Things like moving his little stool all over the house to be able to reach things that he needs and/or wants.  He is finding more and more ways to become independent, which is great with a new sister in the house.  Every time he does something like this, or every time he sees us do something that he thinks was a good idea, he says, “I was thinkin'” (or, “You were thinkin'”).

One day last week he was on “The greatest ‘fill-in-the-blank’ in the whole world ever” kick.  Each and every thing that day was the greatest.  Sometimes, favorite was substituted for greatest.  My personal fave was “Cora has the greatest baby sounds in the whole world ever.”

Now that it is the holiday season, we’ve been talking a lot about Christmas being Jesus’ birthday and singing a lot of Christmas songs and stuff.  The best part of all of this is Bug saying ‘Jesus Price’ instead of Jesus Christ.  I haven’t been correcting him because I know he’ll only say it that way for a short time and I’ll probably miss it when it’s gone.

Something that I was going to include here, but now technically can’t because, as of last week, it is officially a phrase that Bug used to say: “Sit next by me.”  I am seriously missing this one.  Damn, they grow up so fast!

One thought on “The Things He Says: Volume 4

Leave a Reply

