Stuff I Feed My Kid: Orzo & Veggies

This is a colorful, easy & healthy recipe.  Not much of an explanation needed.  I would normally use a whole wheat orzo, but I couldn’t find any this time around.

Here’s what you need:

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon finely chopped rosemary
  • 1/2 cup frozen corn
  • 1/2 cup frozen peas
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup diced fresh red bell pepper
  • salt & pepper to taste (optional)
  • 2 cups cooked orzo (follow package directions)
  • 1/2 a lemon (or a tablespoon or two lemon juice)

Heat olive oil in a saute pan over medium heat.  Add rosemary and saute for a couple of minutes to release the aroma.  Add corn, peas, peppers, salt & pepper and cook for 7-10 minutes, until peppers are translucent… you want the veggies to be tender, but not mushy.

Put orzo in a mixing bowl and add the veggies.  Squeeze juice from half a lemon (or pour in a tablespoon or two lemon juice) and mix well.  Serve as is or with diced chicken.  Refrigerate in an airtight container for up to 3 days or freeze for up to 3 months.

When I first made this I thought it might work out as something Eli could eat with his fingers, but I was wrong.  Too slippery & small.  So, we’re spoon feeding this to him at the moment.  He’s generally pretty good with his own spoon, but he can’t seem to get this stuff in his mouth without dropping it all in his lap.  Too slippery I guess.  He is a big fan of this meal, though!

3 thoughts on “Stuff I Feed My Kid: Orzo & Veggies

  1. Good to see a mother feeding her kid proper food rather than the frozen crap so many parents feed their kids these days. I think it’s cruel when you see so many overweight and unhealthy kids around these days.

  2. Pingback: Toddler Life: 7 meals to please your little ones ,Whip It Up Wednesday

Leave a comment